Three ways race to head police force during elections

The Lok Sabha elections will start soon. Who will be the state's new DGP?

Probha Rani Das
New Update
ips chief eci.jpg

By A Staff Reporter: The Election Commission has asked for three suitable names for posting as director general of police, West Bengal following the removal of current incumbent Rajeev Kumar. ANM News looks at the three seniors most IPS officers of the state who are up for selection. According to the civil list, Sanjay Mukherjee, Ranvir Kumar and Dr Rajesh Kumar are three seniors most IPS officers.

There will be no victory Celebration; Election Commission

Dr Rajesh Kumar, is currently posted as member secretary Pollution Control Board, Sanjay Mukherjee is director general of fire and emergency services, and Ranvir Kumar is director general of Enforcement Branch. The state home department is expected to forward the names of three senior most IPS officers for ECI's consideration. All the three IPS officers retire in January 2026 and have almost two years of service left with them.